MEMBER HOTLINE    03 8742 6600


President's Theme

Each year, the DIAA National President sets a theme that is particularly relevant to the DIAA and the industry. The theme sets the direction for the DIAA and is picked up by all DIAA States in their annual conferences and events.

The 2020 DIAA National President theme is:

Valuing value

“Value” can be interpreted as many things: value for money; the value of market share; and the value of the brand, the product, the person, the industry we work within, right through to the value our Association provides. Additionally,  there is the value of friendships and friends made. It is a wide interpretation.

Past President's Themes

2019   Allan Box   'Managing change in our industry and Association'
2018   Bill Calder   'The wisdom of experience, strategy and fresh thinking for a stronger organisation'
2017   Bill Calder   'Where will I be in five years, and how will I get there?'
2016   Mark Pettitt   'Training and developing staff makes a difference'
2015   Mark Pettitt   'Is our industry training and developing our people to world-class standards?'
2014   Wayne Austin                     'Promoting intellectual strength in the dairy industry by facilitating the
sharing of knowledge between researchers, tertiary institutions, scientists and industry'
2013   Wayne Austin   'Taking every opportunity to promote Australia's great dairy products'
2012   Chris Rolls   'Increasing opportunities to share industry knowledge'
2011   Doug Eddy   'Returning benefits to members'
2010   Doug Eddy   'Remembering the past, studying the present and delivering the future'
2009    Allan Box    'Our industry's future - innovating to attract and retain the best talent'
2008   Allan Box   'DIAA - Strengthening the dairy value chain by fostering partnerships'
2007   Greg Peisley   'Dynamic dairy - managing change and moving forward'
2006   Greg Peisley   'Our people, our focus'
2005       Janos Kaldy       'Focus on quality - a building block for success'
2004   Jo Davey   'Promoting innovation'
2003   Rod Taylor   'Positive changes required for a positive future'
2002   Chris Oxenford   'Looking to the future and its challenges'
2001   Des Mahony   'Networking the Australian way - a mechanism for promotion
of higher levels of excellence in the dairy industry'
2000   Janos Kaldy   'Development and supply of top-quality, innovative products and services
that meet the gold medal expectation befitting an Olympic year'
1999   George Davey   'Adopting a national focus to meet the expectations of a changed industry'
1998   Rocco Galluccio   'To embrace and foster the ideals of the DIAA mission statement'
1997   Neil Willman   'Value adding to our personnel, processes and products via technology'
1996   Ian Hollindale   'Strengthening our Association through membership'
1995   Peter McGuire   'Embracing the future - development of a competitive edge in a free market industry'
1994   Ross Matthews   'Applying quality management and world's best practice to develop a strong
and competitive Australian dairy industry'
1993   Alan Hoskins   'Development of a more effective role by our Association'
1992   Peter Thiele   'Developing management skills for the future'
1991   Syd Blyth   'Putting quality into human resource development'
1990   Gordon Hitchcock   'Investing in new technology'
1989   Warren Woods   'Research and development - leading the dairy industry into our third century and towards the year 2000'
1988   Robin Steed   'Developing and managing human resources'
1987   Colin James   'The "where to now" depends on you'
1986   Laurie Muller   'Profitability through quality'


1985   Harold Snow   'Cheese varieties for Australian needs'
1984   Syd Blyth   'Dairy foods in human nutrition'
1983   Mick McMahon   'Manufacturing dairy products to meet modern marketing needs'
1982   J. J. Sullivan   'Waste reduction in the dairy industry'
1981   G. G. Smith   'Computers and automation to profit the dairy industry'
1980   A. J. Cockerill   'Dairy products are nutritious convenience foods'
1979   John Spinkston   'Energy - its use and conversion'
1978   J. T. Feagan   'Technical marketing - the economics'
1977   John Friederich   'Satisfying the modern consumer's requirements in dairy products'
1976   H. J. Tabley
1975   T. K. Mitchell   'Planning education to service the restructuring dairy industry'
1974   L. I. Wright   'The role of animal health in dairy technology'
1973   Adrian J. Turton   'How can a better image be projected for the products of the dairy industry?'
1972   Brian Hannaford   'The role of the dairy industry in prevention of environmental pollution'
1971   Ross Richards   'The use of dairy products in other food industries'
1970   Lawrie Muller   'The role of the dairy factory supervisor'
1969   D. I. Shew   'Mechanisation and automation'
1968   J. C. Tarrant   'Cleaning and sanitation in the dairy industry'
1967   G. J. Conroy   'Design, construction and maintenance of dairy factory buildings'
1966   R. W. Irvine   'Standards for the dairy industry'
1965   G. D. Loftus-Hills   'The economics of dairy processing' (re-adopted)
1964   W. J. Crews   'The economics of dairy processing'
1963   N. J. O'Brien   'The impact of Asian markets on the Australian dairy industry'
1962   V. R. Smythe   'The packaging/marketing of fluid milk in all its aspects'
1961   A. Miller
1960   H. V. Rees   'Is our technology and marketing of table cream satisfactory?'
1959   E. Munch-Petersen
1958   J. H. Bryant   'Export standards for dairy products'
1957   A. G. Itzerott   'Farm collection of milk'
1956   T. H. Atkinson   'The role of technology in reducing costs in the dairy industry'
1955   M. Cullity   'The influence of quality on the future of the dairy industry'
1954   C. J. Macdermott   'The nutritional aspects of milk and dairy products and their importance to national health'
1953   D. Scott   President's theme first debated at Council
1952   J. V. Pascoe   President's theme instituted by Council
1951   F. H. Daniell   n/a
1950   E. B. Rice   n/a
1949   E. B. Rice   n/a
1948   W. J. Wiley   n/a
1947   W. J. Wiley   n/a
1946   G. McGillivray   n/a
No Internet Connection